- QUESTION 1
Team A is at bat with two outs with a runner at second and down by one run
in the bottom of the seventh inning. Hoss gets up and sets up deep in the
box (both feet in the box). The pitcher delivers the ball, Hoss steps back
to get leverage (his back foot lands completely out of the box) but he moves
forward and hits the ball over the fence with both feet in the box when he
hits the ball. What is your call (or no call)?
FOR ANSWER 1: PLACE
MOUSE HERE
As soon as Hoss makes contact, you call dead ball, and rule Hoss out. That is the third out of the inning, and team A loses by one run.
There are a couple of common mistakes that come into play with this situation. A lot of people think that as long as the player is in the box at the time of the pitch, and when he hits the ball, there is no call. This was changed several years ago. The batter is not allowed to have a foot entirely out side the box at anytime until after they have hit the ball.
Second, some people think as soon as he steps out of the box, the batter is out. If the batter were to take the pitch, or swing and miss there would be no call (other than strike on the swing and, of the appropriate ball or strike on the taken pitch).
RULES: 7.6.D-F, POE #7APPEAR
- QUESTION 2
In the first inning, John (batting fourth) singles and is replaced at 1B by
Jim. In the third inning, when the fourth spot in the order comes up, John
reenters and doubles. He is then replaced at 2B by Bob.
In the sixth inning, with George on 2B, the fourth spot in the order comes
up again. John reenters and singles, with George scoring. The defensive
coach then points out that John had previously reentered the game in the
third inning.
What is your ruling?
FOR ANSWER 2: PLACE
MOUSE HERE
John's reentering the game in the third was legal since everyone is allowed to re-enter one time as long as it is in the same spot in the batting order. However, after being replaced by Bob, he would not be eligible to reenter the game again. So, his re-entry in the sixth was an illegal substitution.
Since the defensive coach pointed this out after the at bat, and prior to a pitch to the next batter, the illegal sub is called out and disqualified from the game. A legal sub is entered. Also, any base runners who advanced because of the batted ball are returned to the last base legally touch prior to the hit.
For this specific play:
1) John is out and disqualified because of being an illegal sub.
2) A legal sub would be needed for the fourth spot in the batting order.
Both Jim and Bob would be eligible for this since they were previously in this spot in the batting order, and have not reentered
yet.
3) George would be returned to 2B.
4) Play would resume with the person in the fifth spot in the batting order being up.
RULES: 4.5.C&E EFFECT, 4.6.C.3, 4.6.G.4 EFFECT
- QUESTION 3
Sue is on 3B and Sandy on 1B. Erin is at bat with a 0-ball, 1-strike count.
The pitcher, Amy step on the pitching plate with the ball in her glove, and
her pitching hand behind her back. After properly getting the signal from
the catcher, Amy brings her hands together. After pulling the ball out of
her glove to change her grip, Amy puts her hands back together and then
pitches the ball.
Erin hits a ground ball to Alice at 2B who throws to 1B getting Erin out. On
the play, Sue scores and Sandy moves up to 2B.
What is the call?
FOR ANSWER 3: PLACE
MOUSE HERE
(Fast Pitch) After bringing the hands together, when the pitcher separates her hands it is the start of the pitching motion. Bringing her hands back
together after this results in an illegal pitch. The umpire should give the delayed dead ball signal, and say "Illegal pitch".
On the illegal pitch, if the batter reaches 1B, and all runners advance at least one base, the illegal pitch is ignored. While both runners advanced
one base, the batter did not safely reach 1B. That means the offensive coach is given 2 options:
1) Take the result of the play.
2) Enforce the illegal pitch. This would mean advancing all runners 1 base, and awarding a ball to the batter.
For this specific play, the 2 options would be:
1) Sue scores. Sandy at 2B. Erin out. The batter who is after Erin in the batting order would be at bat.
2) Advancing the runners would have Sue scoring and Sandy at 2B. Erin would resume her at bat with a 1-ball, 1-strike count.
RULES: 6(FP).3.B, 6(FP) EFFECT-Sections 1-5, 7-8
(Slow Pitch) Separating her hands would not be the start of the pitch. Since she had a pause, and then threw the ball correctly after that, this would be a legal pitch. The play would stand as it too place.
RULE: 6(SP).3
- QUESTION 4
Curt pitching, John on 1B, Dan batting with a 1-ball, 1-strike count.
After the pause, Curt takes the ball back
beyond his hip, then makes a
complete windmill prior to releasing the pitch. Dan hits a ground ball to
Bob at short, who steps on 2B and throws to 1B getting the double play.
What is the call and method of making the call?
FOR ANSWER 4: PLACE
MOUSE HERE
(Fast Pitch)
This would be a legal pitch since the Curt released the ball without making 2 full revolutions in the windmill. The play would stand.
RULE: 6(FP).3.D
(Slow Pitch)
While using a windmill is legal in slow pitch,
the ball must be release the first time past the hip. Since Curt took the
ball behind his back prior to the windmill, he would have released the ball
the second time pass the hip, making this an illegal pitch.
The umpire should verbally call illegal pitch,
and give the delayed dead ball signal. Since Dan swung at the pitch, the illegal pitch is wiped out
and the play is allowed to stand. Giving 2 outs, and the batter after Dan will come to bat.
Had Dan taken the pitch, you would have enforced the illegal pitch. The
pitch would be called a ball even if it went through the strike zone.
RULE: 6(SP).3.D EFFECT 2-4, 7
- QUESTION 5
(Fast Pitch, Slow Pitch with Stealing) The first 5 in a team's batting order are:
Rich,
Jim,
John,
Dave,
Mark
In the first inning Rich singles and Jim walks. Dave then comes to bat. On
the first pitch Rich steals third. Dave then hits a ground ball to short,
forcing Jim at second, Dave reaches first safely. On the play Rich scores.
The defensive team then appeals Dave batting out of order.
What is the ruling?
FOR ANSWER 5: PLACE
MOUSE HERE
Since the batting out of order was appealed after Dave finished his at bat, but before a pitch was thrown to the next batter:
1) Any advance of base runners as a result of the out of order batter is
negated. This puts Rich back on third and Dave is taken off of first.
Rich's steal is allowed to stand since that happened independent of
Dave's batting.
2) Any outs which happen on the play stand. That means Jim is still out
on the force at second.
3) The person who should have been at bat is out. So, John is called out.
4) The person in the batting order after the batter that was called out
is the next batter. That means Dave bats again.
Putting all that together, you have 2 outs, Rich at third, and Dave batting.
RULE: 7.3.2
- QUESTION 6
With Rich on 3B and John on 2B, Greg hits a ground ball to Mike at short.
After checking the runners, Mike makes a throw to 1B. Greg beats the throw,
but steps entirely on the white part of a double base, and hits the first
basemen's leg. On the throw, Rich broke for the plate.
What is the call?
FOR ANSWER 6:
PLACE
MOUSE HERE
Normally, a batter-runner hitting only the white part of a double base is an
appeal play for the defense. However, if the fielder is about to catch a
throw, and contact is made it is interference. You have an immediate dead
ball and all runners are returned to the last base reached prior to the
interference.
In this case, Greg would be out on the interference, Rich returned to 3B and
John returned to 2B.
QUESTION - 1
Team A is at bat with two outs with a runner at second and down by one run in
the bottom of the seventh inning. Hoss gets up and sets up deep in the box (both
feet in the box). The pitcher delivers the ball, Hoss steps back to get leverage
(his back foot lands completely out of the box) but he moves forward and hits
the ball over the fence with both feet in the box when he hits the ball. What is
your call (or no call)?
ANSWER - 1
As soon as Hoss makes contact, you call dead ball, and rule Hoss out. That is
the third out of the inning, and team A loses by one run.
There are a couple of common mistakes that come into play with this situation. A
lot of people think that as long as the player is in the box at the time of the
pitch, and when he hits the ball, there is no call. This was changed several
years ago. The batter is not allowed to have a foot entirely out side the box at
anytime until after they have hit the ball.
Second, some people think as soon as he steps otu of the box, the batter is out.
If the batter were to take the pitch, or swing and miss there would be no call
(other than strike on the swing and, of the appropriate ball or strike on the
taken pitch).
RULES: 7.6.D-F, POE #7
Back to Top
QUESTION - 2
In the first inning, John (batting fourth) singles and is replaced at 1B by Jim.
In the third inning, when the fourth spot in the order comes up, John reenters
and doubles. He is then replaced at 2B by Bob.
In the sixth inning, with George on 2B, the fourth spot in the order comes up
again. John reenters and singles, with George scoring. The defensive coach then
points out that John had previously reentered the game in the third inning.
What is your ruling?
ANSWER - 2
John's reentering the game in the third was legal since everyone is allowed to
re-enter one time as long as it is in the same spot in the batting order.
However, after being replaced by Bob, he would not be eligible to reenter the
game again. So, his re-entry in the sixth was an illegal substitution.
Since the defensive coach pointed this out after the at bat, and prior to a
pitch to the next batter, the illegal sub is called out and disqualified from
the game. A legal sub is entered. Also, any base runners who advanced because of
the batted ball are returned to the last base legally touch prior to the hit.
For this specific play:
1) John is out and disqualified because of being an illegal sub.
2) A legal sub would be needed for the fourth spot in the batting order.
Both Jim and Bob would be eligible for this since they were previously in this
spot in the batting order, and have not reentered
yet.
3) George would be returned to 2B.
4) Play would resume with the person in the fifth spot in the batting order
being up.
RULES: 4.5.C&E EFFECT, 4.6.C.3, 4.6.G.4 EFFECT
Back to Top
QUESTION - 3
Sue is on 3B and Sandy on 1B. Erin is at bat with a 0-ball, 1-strike count.
The pitcher, Amy step on the pitching plate with the ball in her glove, and her
pitching hand behind her back. After properly getting the signal from the
catcher, Amy brings her hands together. After pulling the ball out of her glove
to change her grip, Amy puts her hands back together and then pitches the ball.
Erin hits a ground ball to Alice at 2B who throws to 1B getting Erin out. On the
play, Sue scores and Sandy moves up to 2B.
What is the call?
ANSWER - 3
(Fast Pitch) After bringing the hands together, when the pitcher separates
her hands it is the start of the pitching motion. Bringing her hands back
together after this results in an illegal pitch. The umpire should give the
delayed dead ball signal, and say "Illegal pitch".
On the illegal pitch, if the batter reaches 1B,
and all runners advance at
least one base, the illegal pitch is ignored. While both runners advanced
one base, the batter did not safely reach 1B. That means the offensive
coach is given 2 options:
1) Take the result of the play.
2) Enforce the illegal pitch. This would mean advancing all runners 1 base, and awarding a ball to the batter.
For this specific play, the 2 options would be:
1) Sue scores. Sandy at 2B. Erin out. The batter who is after Erin in the batting order would be at bat.
2) Advancing the runners would have Sue scoring and Sandy at 2B. Erin would resume her at bat with a 1-ball, 1-strike count.
RULES:
6(FP).3.B, 6(FP) EFFECT-Sections 1-5, 7-8
(Slow Pitch) Separating her hands would not be
the start of the pitch.
Since she had a pause, and then threw the ball correctly after that, this
would be a legal pitch. The play would stand as it too place.
QUESTION - 4
Curt pitching, John on 1B, Dan batting with a 1-ball, 1-strike count.
After the pause, Curt takes the ball back
beyond his hip, then makes a
complete windmill prior to releasing the pitch. Dan hits a ground ball to
Bob at short, who steps on 2B and throws to 1B getting the double play.
What is the call and method of making the call?
ANSWER 4
(Fast Pitch) This would be a legal pitch since the Curt released the ball
without making 2 full revolutions in the windmill. The play would stand.
RULE:
6(FP).3.D
(Slow Pitch) While using a windmill is legal in
slow pitch, the ball must
be release the first time past the hip. Since Curt took the ball behind his
back prior to the windmill, he would have released the ball the second
time pass the hip, making this an illegal pitch.
The umpire should verbally call illegal pitch,
and give the delayed dead
ball signal. Since Dan swung at the pitch, the illegal pitch is wiped out
and the play is allowed to stand. Giving 2 outs, and the batter after Dan
will come to bat.
Had Dan taken the pitch, you would have
enforced the illegal pitch. The
pitch would be called a ball even if it went through the strike zone.
RULE:
6(SP).3.D EFFECT 2-4, 7
Back to Top
QUESTION - 5
(Fast Pitch, Slow Pitch with Stealing) The first 5 in a team's batting
order are:
Rich
Jim
John
Dave
Mark
In the first inning Rich singles and Jim walks. Dave then comes to bat. On
the first pitch Rich steals third. Dave then hits a ground ball to short,
forcing Jim at second, Dave reaches first safely. On the play Rich scores.
The defensive team then appeals Dave batting out of order.
What is the ruling?
ANSWER - 5
Since the batting out of order was appealed after Dave finished his at bat,
but before a pitch was thrown to the next batter:
1) Any advance of base runners as a result of the out of order batter is
negated. This puts Rich back on third and Dave is taken off of first.
Rich's steal is allowed to stand since that happened independent of
Dave's batting.
2) Any outs which happen on the play stand. That means Jim is still out
on the force at second.
3) The person who should have been at bat is out. So, John is called out.
4) The person in the batting order after the batter that was called out
is the next batter. That means Dave bats again.
Putting all that together, you have 2 outs, Rich at third, and Dave batting.
RULE:
7.3.2
Back to Top
QUESTION - 6
With Rich on 3B and John on 2B, Greg hits a ground ball to Mike at short.
After checking the runners, Mike makes a throw to 1B. Greg beats the throw,
but steps entirely on the white part of a double base, and hits the first
basemen's leg. On the throw, Rich broke for the plate.
What is the call?
ANSWER - 6
Normally, a batter-runner hitting only the white part of a double base is an
appeal play for the defense. However, if the fielder is about to catch a
throw, and contact is made it is interference. You have an immediate dead
ball and all runners are returned to the last base reached prior to the
interference.
In this case, Greg would be out on the interference, Rich returned to 3B and
John returned to 2B.
Back to Top
Howard County Officials Website Home Page
This page was created
03/19/2006
Please address any comments questions to
webmaster